Wisconsin Child Sales Tax Rebate

Are you a Wisconsin resident with a child under 18 whom you claim as a dependent on your tax return? If so, you may be entitled to a $100 rebate per child from the Wisconsin Department of Revenue.

Due to sound fiscal management and a strong economy, Wisconsin has a state budget surplus of almost $400 million. The Governor and State Legislature have determined that some of the surplus be returned to taxpayers in the form of a Child Sales Tax Rebate. This is a $100 rebate for sales and use tax paid on purchases made for raising a dependent child in 2017.

The filing deadline to claim this rebate is July 2, 2018.

Requirements to claim rebate:

Have a qualified child

A child may only be claimed by one individual

What you need to file claim:

Parent/individual claiming child information

Qualified child's Social Security number and date of birth

If you choose direct deposit, bank routing number and account number

If you are a nonresident or part-year resident that moved out of Wisconsin in 2017, you must submit additional proof

If you have any questions or would like assistance in filing a claim for the rebate, please feel free to contact a member of your Porte Brown advisory team at 847-956-1040.

We Help You Get to Your Next Level™

Get in touch today and find out how we can help you meet your objectives.

Call Us